NEP governance

NEP’s infrastructure is sponsored by
the School of Economics and Finance
of Massey University in New Zealand.

Since early 2005 NEP is led by a small group of people. They are known collectively as the “politburo”. Each member of the politburo has different responsibilities.

The controller
This is the person who oversees the performance of NEP. S/he has the power to retire subject editors who do not issue reports in a timely manner. The current controller is Stan Miles.
The director
This is the person who oversees the expansion of NEP. S/he has the power to appoint new editors and create new reports. S/he also deals with everything else no-one else is willing (or able) to do. The current director is Marco Novarese.
The editor
This is the person who composes the nep-all report every week. The current editor is Laura Ştefănescu.
The wizard
This person provides technical support for the running of NEP and its infrastructure. The current wizard is Thomas Krichel.

Closing a report requires the consent of all members of the politburo.

Before 2005, NEP was lead by a single person called the general editor. This post was occupied by John S. Irons between 1998 and 2000, and by Bernardo Bátiz-Lazo between 2000 and 2007. After the establishement of the politburo, Bernardo remained as director until 2007. Christian Calmès served as controler until December 2012.

NEP was created by Thomas Krichel. He has been maintaining the infrastructure of NEP since its inception. José Manuel Barrueco Cruz, David Hugh-Jones, Roman D. Shapiro and John Q. Sillari also contributed to its technical infrastructure.